Faculty

Distinguished Professors

 
Zeynep Çelik
Distinguished Professor
Joint Member, College of Architecture and Design and NJIT Federated Department of History
Office: 533 Weston Hall
Phone:  973-596-3013
E-mail:  zeynep.celik@njit.edu
 
Steven J. Diner (Rutgers)
University Professor
Office: 420 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-2508
Fax: 973-353-1193
E-mail: sdiner@rutgers.edu
James Goodman (Rutgers)
Office: 307 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-3886
Fax: 973-353-1193
E-mail: goodmanj@rutgers.edu
Richard B. Sher
Distinguished Professor of History
Office: 323 Cullimore Hall
Phone: 973-596-3377
Fax : 973-596-5345
E-mail: sher@njit.edu

 
 

Professors

 
Susan L. Carruthers (Rutgers)
Graduate Director, History
Deputy Director, Division of Global Affairs
Office: 318 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-3889
Fax: 973-353-1193
E-mail: scarruth@andromeda.rutgers.edu
 
Ruth Feldstein (Rutgers)
Office 308 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-3884
Fax: 973-353-1193
E-mail: feldst@andromeda.rutgers.edu

Jan Ellen Lewis (Rutgers)
Dean of Faculty and Professor of History
Office: 325 Hill Hall
Phone: 973-353-5213
Fax: 973-353-1442
E-mail: janlewis@andromeda.rutgers.edu

Neil Maher (NJIT)
Graduate History Coordinator of the Concentration in History of Technology, Environment & Medicine
Office: 325 Cullimore Hall
Phone: 973-596-6348
Fax : 973-596-5345
E-mail: maher@njit.edu
http://neilmaher.com/index.html

Expert Profile

Beryl E. Satter (Rutgers)
Acting Undergraduate Director, Rutgers
Office: 336 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-3900
Fax: 973-353-1193
E-mail: satter@andromeda.rutgers.edu

Karl Schweizer (NJIT)
Office: 308 Cullimore
Phone: 973-596-3274
Fax : 973-596-5345
E-mail: schweize@njit.edu

   

Associate Professors

 
Karen Caplan
Department Chair (Rutgers)
Office 312 Conklin Hall
Phone 973-353-5233
Fax: 973-353-1193
E-mail: kcaplan@andromeda.rutgers.edu
 
Kornel Chang (Rutgers)
Center for Migration and the Global City
Office: 313 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-3823
Fax: 973-353-1193
E-mail: kchang4@andromeda.rutgers.edu

Jon ​Cowans  (Rutgers)
Office: 305 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-3893
Fax: 973-353-1193
Email: jonco@aol.com 

Marta Esquilin
Associate Dean of the Honors Living-Learning Community 
Assistant Professor of Professional Practice, History
Office: 422 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-2847

Email: marta.esquilin@rutgers.edu

Gary D. Farney (Rutgers)
Director, Program in Ancient and Medieval Civilizations
Office: 327 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-3897
Fax: 973-353-1193
E-mail: gfarney@rutgers.edu
 

Eva Giloi (Rutgers)
Undergraduate Director, Rutgers
Office; 316 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-3885
Fax: 973-353-1193
E-Mail: evagiloi@andromeda.rutgers.ed

Brian Phillips Murphy (Rutgers)
Director of the Honors College and Associate Professor of History
Office: Engelhard 219
Phone: 973-353-5860
Stephen Pemberton (NJIT)
NJIT Chair, Federated Department of History
Office: 329 Cullimore
Phone: 973-596-5716
Fax : 973-596-5345
E-mail: stephen.pemberton@njit.edu
 
Office: 314 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-1914
 
 
Associate Professor and Director of Women's and Gender Studies
Office:  306 Conklin
Phone:  973-353-3887
 
 

 

Assistant Professors

 

Daniel Asen (Rutgers)
Office 328 ConklinHall
Fax: 973-353-1193
E-mail: daniel.asen@rutgers.edu

 
Office:  330 Conklin Hall
Phone:  973-353-1056
Mark Krasovic (Rutgers)
Associate Director of IECME
Office: IECME
49 Bleeker Street
Phone: 973-353-1051
E-Mail: krasovic@andromeda.rutgers.edu
 
Alison. Lefkovitz (NJIT)
Director, Law, Technology and Culture Program
Office: 327 Cullimore Hall
Phone:  973-596-3292
Fax: 973-596-5345
E-Mail: alefkovi@njit.edu
Lyra D. Monteiro (Rutgers)
Office: 317 Conklin Hall
Phone:  973-353-3898
E-Mail: lyra.monteiro@rutgers.edu
 

Elizabeth Petrick (NJIT)
Office: 324 Cullimore Hall
Phone: (973) 596-3372
E-mail: elizabeth.r.petrick@njit.edu
Fax: 973-596-3292

 
Habtamu Tegegne (Rutgers)
Office: 329 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-1124
Fax: 973-353-1193
E-mail: ht254@andromeda.rutgers.edu
 
Audrey Truschke (Rutgers)
Office:  310 Conklin Hall
E-Mail:  audrey.truschke@gmail.com
Department of History
 
  Nukhet Varlik
Office: 310 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-3904
Fax: 973-353-1193
E-mail: varlik@andromeda.rutgers.edu
   

Senior Lecturer

 
   
Kyle Riismandel (NJIT)
University Lecturer
Office: 326 Cullimore Hall
Phone: 973-596-3379
Fax : 973-596-5345
E-mail: kyle.riismandel@njit.edu
On LinkedIn
 

Scholar Teachers

 
Aaron Hershkowitz
Office:.315 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-1469
E-mail: aaron.hershkowitz@rutgers.edu
Kristin Canzano Pinyan
Office: 327 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-3898
E-mail: kcpinyan@eden.rutgers.edu
   

Adjunct Faculty

 
Matthew Friedman
Part-Time Lecturer (Rutgers)
Office: 337 Conklin Hall
E-mail: velomatt@eden.rutgers.edu

 

 

José Gomez-Rivera
Part-Time Lecturer (Rutgers)
Office: 326 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-7829
Email Khaldum1@yahoo.com
Lisa Gill (NJIT)
Adjunct Professor
Office:321 Cullimore Hall
Phone: 973-596-5737
Email gilll@njit.edu
 
 

Scott Kent (NJIT)
Administrative Assistant and Adjunct Professor 
Office: 331 Cullimore Hall
Phone: 973-596-5334
E-mail kent@njit.edu

 
Thomas McCabe
Part-Time Lecturer (Rutgers)
Office: 326 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-5410
Email: tamccabe@andromeda.rutgers.edu
 
Abigail Mellen
Part-Time Lecturer (Rutgers)
Office: 326 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-7837
Email amellen@andromeda.rutgers.edu
Christopher Mitchell
Part-Time Lecturer (Rutgers)
Conklin Hall
E-mail: christopher.adam.mitchell@gmail.co

 
Elektra Kostopoulou
Adjunct Professor (NJIT)
Office: 321 Cullimore Hall
Phone: 973-596-5737
E-mail ek528@scarletmail.rutgers.edu
Raymond Ojserkis
Part-Time Lecturer (Rutgers)
Office: 326 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-5410
Email ray.ojserkis@gmail.com
 
Svanur Péturssson (Rutgers)
Office: 337 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-5410
E-mail: svanurp@gmail

Deborah Morrison-Santana (Rutgers)
Office: 337 Conklin Hall
Phone:973-353-5410
E-mail: dm838@scarletmail.Rutgers.edu.edu

   

Teaching Assistants

 
Kaisha Esty (Rutgers)
New Brunswick Teaching Assistant
Office: Conklin 326
Phone: 973-353-5410
Email: kesty@history.rutgers.edu
Travis Jeffres (Rutgers)
New Brunswick Teaching Assistant
Office:  Conklin 326
Phone: 973-353-5410
Email: tjeffres@history.rutgers.edu
 
Paechel Lutz (Rutgers)
New Brunswick Teaching Assistant
Office: Conklin 326
Phone: 973-353-5410
E-mail: rlutz@history.rutgers.edu
 
Deborah Morrison (Rutgers)
Division of Global Affairs Teaching Assistant
Conklin Hall 326
Phone: 973-353-5410
E-mail: deborah.morrison@rutgers.edu
Lance Thurner (Rutgers)
New Brunswick Teaching Assistant
Office: Conklin 326
Phone: 973-353-5410
E-mail: lthurner@history.rutgers.edu
 
   

Emeritus Faculty

 
Norma Basch
Professor Emerita (Rutgers)
 
Norman Dain
Professor Emeritus (Rutgers)
Peter B. Golden
Professor II Emeritus (Rutgers)
 
David H. Hosford
Professor Emeritus (Rutgers)
Taras Hunczak
Professor Emeritus (Rutgers)
 
Warren F. Kimball
Robert Treat Professor Emeritus (Rutgers)
Jonathan Lurie
Professor Emeritus (Rutgers)
Academic Integrity Facilitator
Pre-Law Advisor
Office: Conklin Hall 330
Phone: 973-353-1056
E-mail: jlurie@andromeda.rutgers.edu
 
Irwin L. Merker
Professor Emeritus (Rutgers)
John E. O'Connor
Professor Emeritus (NJIT)
John W. Osborne
Professor Emeritus (Rutgers)

Elliot Rosen
Professor Emeritus (Rutgers)

Frederick H. Russell
Professor Emeritus (Rutgers)
Doris H. Sher
Professor Emerita (NJIT)
 
Norman Tobias
Associate Professor Emeritus (NJIT)
Gabor P. Vermes
Professor Emeritus (Rutgers)
 
 
Olga J. Wagenheim
Professor Emerita (Rutgers)
Odoric Y. K. Wou
Professor Emeritus (Rutgers)