Faculty

Distinguished Professors

 

Zeynep Çelik (NJIT)
Distinguished Professor
Joint Member, College of Architecture and Design
and NJIT Federated Department of History
Office: 533 Weston Hall
Phone:  973-596-3013
E-mail:  zeynep.celik@njit.edu
 

Steven J. Diner (Rutgers)
University Professor
Office: 420 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-2508
Fax: 973-353-1193
E-mail: sdiner@rutgers.edu

James Goodman (Rutgers)
Office: 307 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-3886
Fax: 973-353-1193
E-mail: goodmanj@rutgers.edu
 

 
 

Professors

Louis Hamilton (NJIT)
Dean of Albert Dorman Honors College
Office: 220 Honors Res. Hall
Phone: 973-596-3489
E-Mail: louis.i.hamilton@njit.edu
 

Ruth Feldstein (Rutgers)
Office 308 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-3884
Fax: 973-353-1193
E-mail: feldst@andromeda.rutgers.edu

Jan Ellen Lewis (Rutgers)
Dean of Faculty and Professor of History
Office: 325 Hill Hall
Phone: 973-353-5213
Fax: 973-353-1442
E-mail: janlewis@andromeda.rutgers.edu

Neil Maher (NJIT)
NJIT Chair Federated Department of History
Graduate History Coordinator of the Concentration in History of Technology, Environment & Medicine
Office: 329 Cullimore Hall
Phone: 973-596-6348
Fax : 973-596-5345
E-mail: maher@njit.edu
http://neilmaher.com/index.html

Expert Profile

Beryl E. Satter (Rutgers)
Acting Undergraduate Director, Rutgers
Office: 336 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-3900
Fax: 973-353-1193
E-mail: satter@andromeda.rutgers.edu

Karl Schweizer (NJIT)
Office: 308 Cullimore
Phone: 973-596-3274
Fax : 973-596-5345
E-mail: schweize@njit.edu

   

Associate Professors

 

Karen Caplan
Department Chair (Rutgers)
Office 312 Conklin Hall
Phone 973-353-5233
Fax: 973-353-1193
E-mail: kcaplan@andromeda.rutgers.edu
 

Kornel Chang (Rutgers)
Center for Migration and the Global City
Rutgers- Newark G
Office: 313 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-3823
Fax: 973-353-1193
E-mail: kchang4@rutgers.edu

Jon ​Cowans  (Rutgers)
Office: 305 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-3893
Fax: 973-353-1193
Email: jonco@aol.com 

 

Gary D. Farney (Rutgers)
Director, Program in Ancient and Medieval Civilizations
Office: 327 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-3897
Fax: 973-353-1193
E-mail: gfarney@rutgers.edu
 

Eva Giloi (Rutgers)
Undergraduate Director, Rutgers
Office; 316 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-3885
Fax: 973-353-1193
E-Mail: evagiloi@andromeda.rutgers.ed

Brian Phillips Murphy (Rutgers)
Director of the Honors College and Associate Professor of History
Office: Engelhard 219
Phone: 973-353-5860
Stephen Pemberton (NJIT)
Office: 325 Cullimore
Phone: 973-596-5716
Fax : 973-596-5345
E-mail: stephen.pemberton@njit.edu
 
Office: 314 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-1914
 
Nukhet Varlik (Rutgers)
Office: 310 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-3904
Fax: 973-353-1193
E-mail: varlik@andromeda.rutgers.edu
Whitney Strub  (Rutgers)
Associate Professor and Director of Women's and Gender Studies
Office:  306 Conklin
Phone:  973-353-3887
 
 

 

Assistant Professors

 

Leyla Amzi-Erdogdular (Rutgers)
Office 316 ConklinHall
Fax: 973-353-1193
Email: leyla.amzi@rutgers.edu

Daniel Asen (Rutgers)
Office 328 ConklinHall
Phone: 973-353-3903
E-mail: daniel.asen@rutgers.edu

 
 
Office: 330 Conklin Hall
175 University Avenue
Phone:  973-353-1056
 
Office: 315 Conklin Hall
175 University Avenue
Phone: 973-353-1469
E-Mail: mayte.green@rutgers.edu
Mark Krasovic (Rutgers)
Associate Director of IECME
Office: IECME
49 Bleeker Street
Phone: 973-353-1051
E-Mail: krasovic@andromeda.rutgers.edu
 
Alison. Lefkovitz (NJIT)
Director, Law, Technology and Culture Program
Office: 327 Cullimore Hall
Phone:  973-596-3292
Fax: 973-596-5345
E-Mail: alefkovi@njit.edu
Lyra D. Monteiro (Rutgers)
Office: 317 Conklin Hall
Phone:  973-353-3898
E-Mail: lyra.monteiro@rutgers.edu
 

Elizabeth Petrick (NJIT)
Office: 324 Cullimore Hall
Phone: (973) 596-3372
E-mail: elizabeth.r.petrick@njit.edu
Fax: 973-596-3292

 
Habtamu Tegegne (Rutgers)
Office: 329 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-1124
Fax: 973-353-1193
E-mail: ht254@andromeda.rutgers.edu
 
Audrey Truschke (Rutgers)
Office:  310 Conklin Hall
E-Mail:  audrey.truschke@gmail.com
Department of History
 

Assistant Professor of Professional Practice

 
Marta Esquilin
Associate Dean of the Honors Living-Learning Community and Assistant Professor of Professional Practice
Office: 422 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-2847
E-mail: marta.esquilin@rutgers.edu
 
Mary Rizzo
Assistant Professor of Professional Practice and Associate Director of Public and Digital Humanities Initiatives 
Office: 247A Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-1166
E-mail: mary.rizzo@rutgers.edu

University Lecturers

 
   
Kyle Riismandel (NJIT)
Senior University Lecturer
Office: 326 Cullimore Hall
Phone: 973-596-3379
Fax : 973-596-5345
E-mail: kyle.riismandel@njit.edu
On LinkedIn
Elektra Kostopoulou
Adjunct Professor (NJIT)
Office: 321 Cullimore Hall
Phone: 973-596-5737
E-mail ek528@scarletmail.rutgers.edu

 

 
   
   

Adjunct Faculty

 
Andrew Daily
Part-time Lecturer (Rutgers)
E-mail: amdaily@newark.rutgers.edu

Matthew Friedman 
Lecturer (Rutgers)
Office: 337 Conklin Hall
E-mail: velomatt@eden.rutgers.edu

 

José Gomez-Rivera
Part-Time Lecturer (Rutgers)
Office: 326 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-7829
Email:  jgomezr@newark.rutgers.edu
Lisa Gill (NJIT)
Adjunct Professor
Office:321 Cullimore Hall
Phone: 973-596-5737
Email gilll@njit.edu
 
Elizabeth Eittreim
Part-Time Lecturer (Rutgers)
Office: 313 Conklin Hall
Phone: 
Email: eittreim@rutgers.edu

Scott Kent (NJIT)
Administrative Assistant and Adjunct Professor 
Office: 331 Cullimore Hall
Phone: 973-596-5334
E-mail kent@njit.edu

 
Stuart Gold
Part-Time Lecturer (Rutgers)
Office: 326 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-
Email: sgold@rutgers.edu
Abigail Mellen
Part-Time Lecturer (Rutgers)
Office: 326 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-7837
Email amellen@andromeda.rutgers.edu
Christopher Mitchell
Part-Time Lecturer (Rutgers)
Conklin Hall
E-mail: christopher.adam.mitchell@gmail.co
Thomas McCabe
Part-Time Lecturer (Rutgers)
Office: 326 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-5410
Email: tamccabe@rutgers.edu
 

Matthew Jameson
Part-Time Lecturer (Rutgers)
Office: 
Phone: 973-353-
Email: mj603@rutgers.edu

Raymond Ojserkis
Part-Time Lecturer (Rutgers)
Office: 326 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-5410
Email ray.ojserkis@gmail.com
 
Svanur Péturssson (Rutgers & NJIT)
Office: 337 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-5410
E-mail: svanurp@gmail

Deborah Morrison-Santana (NJIT)
Office: 321 Cullimore Hall
Phone:973-596-5737
E-mail: deborah.c.morrison@njit.edu

Rebecca Lubot (Rutgers)
Office: 337 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-5410
E-mail: Rebecca.Lubot@rutgers.edu
Raymond Ojserkis (Rutgers)
Office: 326 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-5410
E-mail: ray.ojserkis@rutgers.edu

Teaching Assistants

 
Beatrice Adams (Rutgers)
New Brunswick Teaching Assistant
Office: Conklin 326
Phone: 973-353-5410
Email: bja84@rutgers.edu
Anna Nath (Rutgers)
New Brunswick Teaching Assistant
Office:  Conklin 326
Phone: 973-353-5410
Email: avn12@rutgers.edu
 
Brenann Sutter (Rutgers)
New Brunswick Teaching Assistant
Office: Conklin 326
Phone: 973-353-5410
E-mail: bsutter@history.rutgers.edu
 
 
   
   

Emeritus Faculty

 
Norma Basch
Professor Emerita (Rutgers)
 
Norman Dain
Professor Emeritus (Rutgers)
Peter B. Golden
Professor II Emeritus (Rutgers)
 
David H. Hosford
Professor Emeritus (Rutgers)
Taras Hunczak
Professor Emeritus (Rutgers)
 
Warren F. Kimball
Robert Treat Professor Emeritus (Rutgers)
Jonathan Lurie
Professor Emeritus (Rutgers)
 
Irwin L. Merker
Professor Emeritus (Rutgers)
John E. O'Connor
Professor Emeritus (NJIT)
John W. Osborne
Professor Emeritus (Rutgers)

Elliot Rosen
Professor Emeritus (Rutgers)

Frederick H. Russell
Professor Emeritus (Rutgers)
Doris H. Sher
Professor Emerita (NJIT)
 
Norman Tobias
Associate Professor Emeritus (NJIT)
Gabor P. Vermes
Professor Emeritus (Rutgers)
 

Richard B. Sher
Distinguished Professor Emeritus (NJIT)
Office 328 Cullimore Hall 
Phone 973-596-3377     Email:  rbsher6@gmail.com

Olga J. Wagenheim
Professor Emerita (Rutgers)
Odoric Y. K. Wou
Professor Emeritus (Rutgers)