Faculty

Distinguished Professors

 

Zeynep Çelik
Distinguished Professor (NJIT)
Joint Member, College of Architecture and Design
and NJIT Federated Department of History
Office: 533 Weston Hall
Phone:  973-596-3013
E-mail:  zeynep.celik@njit.edu
 

Steven J. Diner
University Professor (Rutgers)
Office: 420 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-2508
Fax: 973-353-1193
E-mail: sdiner@rutgers.edu

James Goodman
Office: 307 Conklin Hall (Rutgers)
Phone: 973-353-3886
Fax: 973-353-1193
E-mail: goodmanj@rutgers.edu
 

 
 

Professors

Louis Hamilton
Dean of Albert Dorman Honors College (NJIT)
Office: 220 Honors Res. Hall
Phone: 973-596-3489
E-Mail: louis.i.hamilton@njit.edu
 

Ruth Feldstein
Office 308 Conklin Hall (Rutgers)
Phone: 973-353-3884
Fax: 973-353-1193
E-mail: feldst@rutgers.edu

Jan Ellen Lewis
Dean of Faculty and Professor of History (Rutgers)
Office: 325 Hill Hall
Phone: 973-353-5213
Fax: 973-353-1442
E-mail: janlewis@andromeda.rutgers.edu

We mourn the loss of Jan Lewis, our friend and colleague.  Read her obituary in the New York Times here.

Neil Maher
NJIT Chair Federated Department of History (NJIT)
Graduate History Coordinator of the Concentration in History of Technology, Environment & Medicine
Office: 329 Cullimore Hall
Phone: 973-596-6348
Fax : 973-596-5345
E-mail: maher@njit.edu
http://neilmaher.com/index.html

Expert Profile

Beryl E. Satter
Acting Undergraduate Director, Rutgers (Rutgers)
Office: 336 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-3900
Fax: 973-353-1193
E-mail: satter@andromeda.rutgers.edu

Karl Schweizer
Office: 308 Cullimore (NJIT)
Phone: 973-596-3274
Fax : 973-596-5345
E-mail: schweize@njit.edu

   

Associate Professors

 

Karen Caplan
Department Chair (Rutgers)
Office 312 Conklin Hall
Phone 973-353-5233
Fax: 973-353-1193
E-mail: kcaplan@andromeda.rutgers.edu
 

Kornel Chang
Center for Migration and the Global City (Rutgers)
Rutgers- Newark G
Office: 313 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-3823
Fax: 973-353-1193
E-mail: kchang4@rutgers.edu

Jon ​Cowans
Office: 305 Conklin Hall (Rutgers)
Phone: 973-353-3893
Fax: 973-353-1193
Email: jonco@aol.com 

Alison Lefkovitz
Director, Law, Technology and Culture Program (NJIT)
Office: 327 Cullimore Hall
Phone:  973-596-3292
Fax: 973-596-5345
E-Mail: alefkovi@njit.edu

Gary D. Farney
Director, Program in Ancient and Medieval Civilizations (Rutgers)
Office: 327 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-3897
Fax: 973-353-1193
E-mail: gfarney@rutgers.edu
 

Eva Giloi
Office; 316 Conklin Hall (Rutgers)
Phone: 973-353-3885
Fax: 973-353-1193
E-Mail: evagiloi@rutgers.ed
 

Brian Phillips Murphy
Director of the Honors College and Associate Professor of History (Rutgers)
Office: Engelhard 219
Phone: 973-353-5860
Stephen Pemberton
Office: 325 Cullimore (NJIT)
Phone: 973-596-5716
Fax : 973-596-5345
E-mail: stephen.pemberton@njit.edu
 
Undergraduate Director, Rutgers (Rutgers)
Office: 314 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-1914
 
Nukhet Varlik
Office: 310 Conklin Hall (Rutgers)
Phone: 973-353-3904
Fax: 973-353-1193
E-mail: varlik@andromeda.rutgers.edu
Associate Professor and Director of Women's and Gender Studies (Rutgers)
Office:  306 Conklin
Phone:  973-353-3887
 
 

 

Assistant Professors

 

 

Leyla Amzi-Erdogdular
Office 316 ConklinHall (Rutgers)
Fax: 973-353-1193
Email: leyla.amzi@rutgers.edu

Daniel Asen
Office 328 Conklin Hall (Rutgers)
Phone: 973-353-3903
E-mail: daniel.asen@rutgers.edu

 
 
Office: 330 Conklin Hall  (Rutgers)
175 University Avenue
Phone:  973-353-1056
 
Office: 322 Cullimore Hall (NJIT)
Phone 973-596-5360
 
Office: 315 Conklin Hall (Rutgers)
175 University Avenue
Phone: 973-353-1469
E-Mail: mayte.green@rutgers.edu
Associate Director of IECME (Rutgers)
Office: IECME
49 Bleeker Street
Phone: 973-353-1051
E-Mail: krasovic@andromeda.rutgers.edu
 
Elizabeth Petrick
Office: 324 Cullimore Hall (NJIT)
Phone: (973) 596-3372
E-mail: elizabeth.r.petrick@njit.edu
Fax: 973-596-3292
Lyra D. Monteiro
Office: 317 Conklin Hall (Rutgers)
Phone:  973-353-3898
E-Mail: lyra.monteiro@rutgers.edu
 

Mary Rizzo
Assistant Professor and Associate Director of Public and Digital Humanities Initiatives (Rutgers)
Office: 247A Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-1166
E-mail: mary.rizzo@rutgers.edu

 
Habtamu Tegegne
Office: 329 Conklin Hal l(Rutgers)
Phone: 973-353-1124
Fax: 973-353-1193
E-mail: ht254@andromeda.rutgers.edu
 
Office:  310 Conklin Hall (Rutgers)
E-Mail:  audrey.truschke@gmail.com
Department of History
 

Assistant Professor of Professional Practice

 
Marta Esquilin
Associate Dean of the Honors Living-Learning Community and Assistant Professor of Professional Practice (Rutgers)
Office: 422 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-2847
E-mail: marta.esquilin@rutgers.edu
 
 
   

Senior University Lecturers

 
Kyle Riismandel
Senior University Lecture (NJIT)
Office: 326 Cullimore Hall
Phone: 973-596-3379
Fax : 973-596-5345
E-mail: kyle.riismandel@njit.edu
On LinkedIn
 

University Lecturers

 
Elektra Kostopoulou
University Lecturer (NJIT)
Office: 321 Cullimore Hall
Phone: 973-596-5737
E-mail ek528@scarletmail.rutgers.edu
 

Adjunct Faculty

 

Beatrice Adams

Part-Time Lecturer (Rutgers
Office: 326 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-7829
 
 
Andrew Daily
Part-time Lecturer (Rutgers)
E-mail: amdaily@newark.rutgers.edu

Scott Kent
Administrative Assistant and Adjunct Professor  (NJIT)
Office: 331 Cullimore Hall
Phone: 973-596-5334
E-mail kent@njit.edu

 

José Gomez-Rivera
Part-Time Lecturer (Rutgers)
Office: 326 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-7829
Email:  jgomezr@newark.rutgers.edu
Elizabeth Eittreim
Part-Time Lecturer (Rutgers)
Office: 313 Conklin Hall
Phone: 
Email: eittreim@rutgers.edu

 
Stuart Gold
Part-Time Lecturer (Rutgers)
Office: 326 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-
Email: sgold@rutgers.edu

Deborah Morrison-Santana
Office: 321 Cullimore Hall (NJIT)
Phone:973-596-5737
E-mail: deborah.c.morrison@njit.edu

 
Rebecca Lubot
Office: 337 Conklin Hall (Rutgers)
Phone: 973-353-5410
E-mail: Rebecca.Lubot@rutgers.edu
 
Christopher Mitchell
Part-Time Lecturer (Rutgers)
Conklin Hall
E-mail: christopher.adam.mitchell@gmail.co
Thomas McCabe
Part-Time Lecturer (Rutgers)
Office: 326 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-5410
Email: tamccabe@rutgers.edu

Svanur Péturssson
Office: 337 Conklin Hall (Rutgers & NJIT)
Phone: 973-353-5410
E-mail: svanurp@gmail

 
Office: 321 Cullimore Hall (NJIT)
Phone: 973-596-5737

 

Raymond Ojserkis
Part-Time Lecturer (Rutgers)
Office: 326 Conklin Hall
Phone: 973-353-5410
Email ray.ojserkis@rutgers.edu

 

   

Teaching Assistants

 
Beatrice Adams
New Brunswick Teaching Assistant (Rutgers)
Office: Conklin 326
Phone: 973-353-5410
Email: bja84@rutgers.edu
Anna Nath
New Brunswick Teaching Assistant (Rutgers)
Office:  Conklin 326
Phone: 973-353-5410
Email: avn12@rutgers.edu
 
Brenann Sutter
New Brunswick Teaching Assistant (Rutgers)
Office: Conklin 326
Phone: 973-353-5410
E-mail: bsutter@history.rutgers.edu
 
 
   
   

Emeritus Faculty

 
Norma Basch
Professor Emerita (Rutgers)
 
Norman Dain
Professor Emeritus (Rutgers)
Peter B. Golden
Professor II Emeritus (Rutgers)
 
David H. Hosford
Professor Emeritus (Rutgers)
Taras Hunczak
Professor Emeritus (Rutgers)
 
Warren F. Kimball
Robert Treat Professor Emeritus (Rutgers)
Jonathan Lurie
Professor Emeritus (Rutgers)
 
Irwin L. Merker
Professor Emeritus (Rutgers)
John E. O'Connor
Professor Emeritus (NJIT)
John W. Osborne
Professor Emeritus (Rutgers)

Elliot Rosen
Professor Emeritus (Rutgers)

Frederick H. Russell
Professor Emeritus (Rutgers)
Doris H. Sher
Professor Emerita (NJIT)
 
Norman Tobias
Associate Professor Emeritus (NJIT)
Gabor P. Vermes
Professor Emeritus (Rutgers)
 

Richard B. Sher
Distinguished Professor Emeritus (NJIT)
Office 328 Cullimore Hall 
Phone 973-596-3377     Email:  rbsher6@gmail.com

Olga J. Wagenheim
Professor Emerita (Rutgers)
Odoric Y. K. Wou
Professor Emeritus (Rutgers)